Highlights of Spanish Astrophysics VII, Proceedings of the X Scientific Meeting of the Spanish Astronomical Society held on July 9 - 13, 2012, in Valencia, Spain. J. C. Guirado, L.M. Lara, V. Quilis, and J. Gorgas (eds.)

## Star formation in H II galaxies

A. Torres-Campos<sup>1,2</sup>, A. I. Díaz<sup>1</sup>, E. Terlevich<sup>2</sup>, D. Rosa-González<sup>2</sup>, E. Telles<sup>3</sup>, and R. Terlevich<sup>2</sup>

 <sup>1</sup> Departamento de Física Teórica, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, 28049 Madrid, Spain.
<sup>2</sup> Departamento de Astrofísica, Instituto Nacional de Astrofísica, Óptica y Electrónica, 72840 Puebla, Mexico.

<sup>3</sup> Observatório Nacional, Rua General José Cristino, 77, 20921-400, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

## Abstract

H II galaxies integrated properties have been widely studied. However, little is known about the individual H II regions and their photoionizing stellar clusters. To broaden our knowledge on star formation in low mass star-forming galaxies (like H II galaxies) it is necessary to answer questions like: How does the star formation distributes along the galaxy? Is it possible for them to form super stellar clusters? How does the star formation history on them looks like? To answer those questions the goal of this thesis work is to map (at tens of parsecs resolution) the recent star formation in six H II galaxies with extremely young star-forming bursts (Rosa-González et al. 2007, ApJ, 654, 226). The preliminary results obtained have allowed us to develop a catalog of H II regions (identified for the first time) in these galaxies and the characterization of the young stellar clusters responsible for their photoionization using POPSTAR (Mollá, García-Vargas, & Bressan 2009, MNRAS, 398, 451) stellar populations models.

## Acknowledgments

We would like to acknowledge the Mexican National Council for Science and Technology (CONACYT) for financial support under the programme Becas Doctorales (2010) and Becas Mixtas (2011), and also to the Sociedad Española de Astronomía (SEA) and the X Scientific Meeting organizing commitees for the accommodation grant.